Are you ever afraid to write?

I’ve recently noticed that while I’m writing, there are certain scenes where I find myself becoming nervous as I write them. I have been wondering why it is that I get nervous. They are scenes that I have been excited to write and even looking forward to. I think the reason I’ve been getting nervous is that there is part of me that is always saying, “What if no one likes this story? What if people read it and think it is the worst thing they have ever read?” Well, I found my answer!

The thing that helps me get through my stories and helps me write exactly what I want to write, is that I write for me first. I’m writing a story that belongs to me, a story I care about., a story I want to share. If no one ends up liking it, I still know that I do. I don’t know if this is the same for everyone, but when I get scared that no one will like what I write, at least I know that I will.

Do you ever get afraid that no one will like your story? What helps you?

 

18 thoughts on “Are you ever afraid to write?

  1. I don’t generally write stories, but I do write, so I face the fear factor. I have had to commit to writing every day to move me beyond fear. I still struggle with thinking no one may like what I create, but I tell myself it is a goal and because I am not a quitter I don’t back down.

    I think we all want to be liked, and our work being an extension of ourselves we hope it is well accepted. Liking ourselves and appreciating our own work is very important. In the end we must create for our edification.

  2. For me these anxieties start when I’m playing with an unfamiliar genre, or a plot development that is too critical. At the same time, I’m always afraid of using the wrong terms, of being too loose or being too graphic. I suppose this is based on my quirks and pet peeves as a reader, but I think that fear is a good thing. It means I care about turning in decent work.

  3. Yep, I do fear writing sometimes. However, what pushes me to keep going is the realization that I feel so much better after I’ve written through the blood, sweat, and tears (even if it did take a long time to get through it all).

  4. I think that’s probably the best way to deal with it, to write for yourself first. But I think it is a good thing, to have those feelings while writing, and I think sometimes they can manifest themselves into something awesome while writing. For the most part I find I am nervous around the beginning and ending of writing a story, but in the middle part I normally get into the groove and just lose myself in it, often wanting to know what will happen next myself (because I am awful at planning, and tend not to stick to plans even when I do write them).

  5. I’m not so much afraid of the writing itself, but I do have a hard time when I have to do some killin’! Sad to say, many of my plot lines involve sad sinceless and sometimes violent ends. I wait until I have it in my head just exactly how I want it so when I write it I can get through it as fast as I can.

  6. I started writing after a very very long break and yes I was finding it a bit nerve-wracking to write a scene. It was a simple enough scene but with a myriad of emotions…since it was based on an old photo I found I’m still hesitant to put down my thoughts.

  7. I think it is very frightening creating a story and a new world but also thrilling at the same time. It is about accepting the criticism from others but remembering that as long as you enjoy your work then its all good πŸ™‚

  8. Our inappropriateness sometimes makes me fidget before a post gets published – but then I live with someone who happens to be unapologetically fearless so the anxiety is often fleeting…and there’s always vodka πŸ™‚ …Jill

Leave a Reply

