What Are Your Favourite Genres to Read?

I’ve been thinking about my favorite genres to read and why I love them so much. I know I get half of my book tastes from my dad and the other from my mom. My dad and I love to read fantasy, sci-fi and YA novels, whereas my mom and I love to read historical fiction and mysteries. Though my dad and I have been getting my mom to read some fantasy lately. It only took years and years to convince her! I also love to read classic literature. So I suppose I do love a bit of everything. I don’t read nearly enough non-fiction, but I’m going to be reading some more soon.

I love fiction so much because of the pure imagination. The way different people can come up with so many different ideas and word them so beautifully. I love stories and they way they can draw me in and leave me thinking about them long after they are over. I’m never very harsh when it comes to my book reviews, because I find that if a book keeps me interested and reading until the last page, if it makes me care about the characters and the resolution, then I love it. If I hate a book, I simply won’t finish it. I love fiction of all sorts!

What are your favorite genres and why?

8 thoughts on “What Are Your Favourite Genres to Read?

  1. I love crime and mysteries. Anything that gets me thinking is always a winner!

    Like you, I too, like a bit of everything. Reading is my escape from the real world – even if it is only for a short amount of time.

  2. I love crime and horror – I get the crime from my Mum and Nanna (the influence of Agatha Christie!) but the horror seems to be all me. I love classics too – which helps since I study literature! I also need to read more non-fiction. I love craft and cookery books but I need to start reading more biographies and history book, they’re two genres I tend to avoid so I think I need to give them a try!

  3. I like pretty much all kinds of fiction except for science fiction. Lately I’ve been reading a lot of fantasy and, unlike you, if I start a book I have to finish it, so not all of it has been good 😛

  4. I will read pretty much anything because if I don’t like something, I simply won’t finish it. I prefer dystopian and a little bit of Stephen King (even though its not a genre he’s written enough books for me to call it one :P) he is my favourite author but I love reading books where the world and society is different to ours. It’s so wonderful how so many people can concoct these unique fantasies.

Leave a Reply

