How did you pick your genre?

Something I have been pondering is how people choose the genres that they want to write. How to fantasy authors become fantasy authors? I suppose with me it was my love of fantasy. But I love other genres, too! Be it mysteries, historical fiction, or YA. I suppose fantasy has always stood out to me the most. I suppose it is also how the ideas find you! I can’t help that the only ideas I get for stories happen to be fantasy. Maybe one day I’ll write something completely different. But for now it is fantasy all the way.

How about you? How did you pick your genre?

14 thoughts on “How did you pick your genre?

  1. I don’t know really, maybe…I do know one thing, I am in awe of other writers who can write other genres, whether it be fantasy, mystery, thrillers, etc. I write romance, the quest to find the perfect one and the happily ever after. πŸ™‚

  2. I usually write fantasy/magical realism. I think it’s just the way my brain works when it comes to stories- I like unusual ways of exploring human nature, and I think those subgenres are a good vehicle for that. Takes a lot of missing before I can make a hit there, though πŸ™‚

  3. there are many people fantasies it is normal,but there are people build castles in the air and that is ok ,but there are poeple who want to live in those castles .i loved your writings.Best wishes,..J MICHAEL SABBAGH

  4. Interestingly enough, I haven’t picked my genre yet. I still dabble in several genres…and maybe I always will?? I become bored if I read one genre for too long, and I just think the same applies to writing. I know that this makes it much harder for myself, especially if I want to establish a fan base one day, but oh well. Such is life. πŸ™‚

      • That’s what I figure. And I think my writing will always reflect where I am in life at the time, and what genres I am reading at the time – something I think is important to any writing – if you can’t find a bit of yourself in your own writing, something isn’t quite right. πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

