Back to Editing – What is your least favorite thing about editing?

Yes, I am back to the task of editing my manuscript. With my plan of having this book published by the end of the summer, I have to hop to it! I do believe I am rather tired of looking at it, though. I doubt I’m the only one to feel that way about a manuscript I have poured over endlessly. But I do believe my least favorite thing about editing is the tiny mistakes that always avoid detection. The little buggers that you don’t notice for the longest time.

What about you? What is your least favorite thing about the editing process?

 

17 thoughts on “Back to Editing – What is your least favorite thing about editing?

  1. I agree. Reading along and realizing that something doesn’t add up and having to go back and rewrite a part. Then usually I have to go back even further and fix other things related to it!

  2. I can pour over a manuscript over and over and still miss the same obvious mistakes that someone else will spot in an instant. When I near the end, I have to resist the temptation to keep making changes too. Sometimes you’ve just got to draw a line under it and say it’s done!

  3. I like to edit by printing off the pages and marking up the changes but then when I go through to change them on the computer, they seem to hide. Drives me nuts.

  4. It takes too long, and the cost of getting it done by a professional editor are outrageous. To pay for editing is one thing, to hock your house, kids, and dog is something else entirely. agstorm.net

  5. I find it frustrating when you feel you are getting there and then set the manuscript aside to get some space for that one last read-through to be more objective, and then you start to read and objectivity shows it to be in need of work again.
    I think I’m really on my last edit too. 🙂 Everything is looking good, and I find I’m just trimming the fat and tightening it up. That’s the fun part!
    I think having a critique partner really helped me find the stuff my eyes missed, and it’s good to immerse myself in her style for awhile too, and then come back to my own.

  6. It’s the logical flaws that kill me. For example, my uncle read my manuscript and pointed out that the entire time system didn’t make sense. The book is about aliens and space, so he was like, “Why do they all talk about hours, days, and years? Wouldn’t each species have a different time system?” So now I get to go back and rework the entire time system, lol.

    And I agree with you about those little mistakes that you keep overlooking despite your best efforts. I guess that’s why proof readers exist 🙂

  7. By the time I get to the editing stage, I’ve pretty much lost interest in the whole thing and I have to force myself to be objective, hard on myself, and get downright nasty! A great writer once told me to put the book away for six months, work on something else, and then come back to it. Makes editing a lot easier. And it works.

  8. Hmm, probably having the nagging sense that something’s not quite right about the whole thing, but not knowing what it is. Comes with it being only my first novel, I guess. That’s where the professional editor comes in!

  9. I think it’s really difficult to edit your own work. That’s why fresh eyes are so important. I find it tough to write about ‘time’. E.g. Three months ago the protagonist did this and then a month passed, then days, and then it’s a week later etc … I then get confused about what season I am in now and what day of the week it should be. Yuck!

Leave a Reply

