The Magic of a Story

I was thinking today about the feeling of wonder that appears when reading an amazing story and the sadness that fills you when the story is over. Then I was thinking about how you then turn around and recommend that story to friends and family, and the tiny feeling of jealousy that manifests as they get to read the story for the first time. I both love and hate the feeling of having finished an amazing story. The feeling of sadness and almost emptiness that follows and how it sometimes lasts for even weeks after you flipped the last page. It is amazing to think that written words on a page have the ability to draw you in to the story and lives of the characters and places within. There really is magic within stories.

A few books that made me sad to have finished reading:

The Historian By: Elizabeth Kostova

The Death Gate Cycle By: Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman

Harry Potter By: J.K. Rowling

 

Which books have left you feeling sad that you finished them?

 

16 thoughts on “The Magic of a Story

  1. I didn’t want THE RANGER’S APPRENTICE by John Flanagan to end. It’s a series of books, and the characters became my friends. I miss them.

  2. HP & the Deathly Hallows devastated me (end of an era!). It always happens after the very first read-through, because it’s the only time the story and characters will ever be this new and fresh, and it’s so sad when it’s over. You can always re-read the book, but it’s never quite the same. Unless you have a really bad memory, and then it’s like you’re reading a new book every time you pick up one you’ve already read! Lol.

  3. Pingback: Review: The Swan Thieves « Jennifer Adventures

  4. I LOVED The Historian! I think about it almost daily… I swear she set it up for another one. I really miss it! Other’s I’ve missed are from How to Knit a Love Song, by Rachel Herron and the entire Chronicles of Narnia, and Children of the Promise & Hearts of the Children by Dean Hughes, and SO many more!

Leave a Reply

