The Attack of Book Ideas

Last night as I was falling asleep, my brain was attacked with ideas for the next two books in my work in progress. Naturally, the ideas that flooded into my imagination are going to completely change the next two books from what I had originally planned. Now the book that was supposed to be the third in the series is going to be the second book in the series and the original second book is going to the third. Now I must begin planning all over again. I think I am going to like how the story progresses better this way, though!

Do your book ideas change on you out of the blue?

SAM_2542

11 thoughts on “The Attack of Book Ideas

  1. Happens all the time. I start writing my books thinking they will go down a certain path and by the time I’m done; I end up going in an entirely different direction πŸ™‚

  2. This has happened to me before. At first I wasn’t happy that my characters pulled this on me. BUT THEN… the story opened up to another completely different idea and the characters came alive in ways that they never did before! πŸ™‚ I definitely am glad that they changed it on me. They made the story more interesting. I actually just finished writing the first book in my trilogy. I had started with the second book… and was determined that it was going to be a single book but when I realized there were too many characters that weren’t speaking to me… they told me it was meant to be a trilogy!

    • I feel the same about these ideas. At first I was a little bit annoyed about the changes, but now I realize that they are changes that are going to make the story much better! πŸ™‚

  3. Book ideas always attack me when I really want them to stay away, and usually when I’m just starting a new book! An absolutely inopportune time since I would have to wait until the first book was over before I could start a new one. 😦

  4. The gift of the imagination or the subconscious, it is a wonderful thing when it brings something new to the surface. Just keep going and keep writing and noting down those wonderful ideas, it sounds like you are on a roll.

Leave a Reply

