How Tendinitis Ruined My Camp NaNoWriMo

So there I was, writing happily. And there was the tendinitis, remaining pleasantly dormant. Until today, when it hit me so hard I could barely even hold a cup in my hand. Seeing as how I have to type all day at work, I decided to set Camp NaNoWriMo aside. Does it suck? It really does. But I am sitting here typing with one hand. Yay excuses!

At the very least, I wrote more in 16 days than I have in over a year. I wrote: 27,537. And! I know that I am capable of writing 50,000 words in a month mentally if not physically. I have suffered from severe tendinitis in my left arm and hand for years now, including a bit of nerve damage in my elbow on the same arm. Essentially, according to the doctor, any repetitive movement is bad. And typing is bad. But my job involves typing, so I type! I just need to go to physiotherapy. Which I will do soon, once the pain lessens! Yay whining!

Either way, now you all know my epic fail. My hope is that everyone else participating wins just as epically. Good luck, people!

 

cropped-sam_2542.jpg

15 thoughts on “How Tendinitis Ruined My Camp NaNoWriMo

  1. Aww, that sucks that you weren’t able to continue writing. However, 27,537 is an awesome word count and you should be proud! Well done. =D I hope you’re feeling better now.

  2. Pingback: Camp NaNoWriMo Day 18 | The Claire Violet Thorpe Express

  3. Sorry to hear about your flare-up. Have you tried speech-to-text software? There’s some pretty accurate software available these days – although the better quality stuff can be expensive.

    Well done on your word-count – and an even bigger well done for being sensible and taking care of your health. It’s really hard, I know, so sending you solidarity vibes across the internet.

  4. Awww, I’m so sorry to hear this. You sound like you are a real fighter though, trying to keep at it with one hand. I think you can feel quite accomplished with your results, and be proud of what you did get done! You know in your heart, you could have reached your goal, if it weren’t for the pain. Hopefully, with rest, it will heal quickly and you will be back at it again, real soon! Take care of yourself, and try not to be discouraged! You did a great job! 🙂

  5. You’re a NaNo winner in my world, Lea! Great job with the 27,537 in 16 days. Maybe you should look into a Dragon program so you can speak and let the dragon do the typing. They’re getting much better and more affordable all the time. Congrats on all the new words you brought into the world! 🙂

  6. Ack, that’s the worst! Especially if you’re like me, and both your job and your hobby (writing) involving sitting at a computer and typing. You should get one of those nifty keyboards that look like little bowls you stick your hand into … let me find a picture … http://www.koniaris.com/dvorak/contour.jpg Seriously though, I hope you feel better soon and continue your epic Camp NaNo quest!

  7. Pingback: Camp NaNoWriMo Day 19 | The Claire Violet Thorpe Express

  8. Pingback: Camp NaNoWriMo Day 20 | The Claire Violet Thorpe Express

  9. Pingback: How to Start Off NaNoWriMo…. Some Writing Advice From Snoopy | Self-Publish 101

  10. Lea! This is not an epic fail. You are still writing, despite your injury. Also, even if there is pain I would suggesting going to physio as soon as you can. Physio will actually lessen the pain in the long run. I went through (and still am going through) that with my knee. The more pain now, the less pain later. You’re amazing and have written more than I have in over five years (discounting school work). If I ever catch you saying you’ve failed at something I’m gonna come over to that Coast of yours and smother you with kittens until you agree with me, and yes, I know you’re allergic to kittens. It will be the most uncomfortable/cute moment of your life. You have been warned.

Leave a Reply

