Bookish Realizations

After doing much thinking, I have decided I will need to rewrite a lot of my book. I first wrote it when I was 16 and even though it has undergone a lot of editing and changes, it still needs to be changed more. I need to rewrite boring scenes  and revamp boring characters. I also need to fix the ending! It has taken me a long time to come to this conclusion, but after much lying to myself I have finally decided it needs to be done. My apologies to anyone who might have been looking forward to Tree of Roses. I am definitely hoping the changes are worth the wait.

How has your writing been going lately?

 

 

cropped-sam_2542.jpg

6 thoughts on “Bookish Realizations

  1. The hardest thing is to be able to take out what needs to go. I’ve always thought that you ned to find the text that you are most in love with… and kill it. Editing is writing… the hardest but most important kind.

    Thanks for sharing.

  2. I’ve had to do the same thing with my first book and am still working on it. I’m about halfway through a massive revision where I’m filling in all the gaps that were left out before. At this point it’s getting exciting because I can finally see where the whole project is going and how to get it there.

  3. That’s one of the things I dread about editing stories that I wrote a while ago. That simple editing will not be enough; rewrite is necessary. Trust yourself and do what feels right. Your readers will still be there 🙂

Leave a Reply

