Reading and Weather

I don’t know if its just me, but there are certain books I can only seem to read during certain weather. For instance, I began reading the Night Circus recently. Its a beautiful, wonderful book. But at the moment I cannot get into the story. Why? Because Its too sunny. Its too hot. For me, this is a book that I’m going to need to read in Fall, when the temperature cools down, the rain begins and I can curl up under a blanket with an insanely large cup of tea. The same goes for writing. I’m more in the mood for writing when the weather is dreadful.

I’m not much of a Summer person to begin with. Unless I’m on a boat or on the water, I actually kind of hate it. When its hot, I get drowsy and lethargic and have no willpower. When the Fall begins, its magical for me. The chilling winds and magnificent storms. Getting to wear comfy sweaters and boots. Clearly, I’m looking forward to it. So for now, I’m reading books that are light and fun. Like Rick Riordan’s YA books. Still hooked on those. Currently reading The Son of Neptune and loving it.

Do you prefer different books in different weather?

cropped-sam_2542.jpg

5 thoughts on “Reading and Weather

  1. I can totally relate. I find I like to read blogs or short pieces in hot weather. I edit books in the summer and I don’t write much new material. I guess it makes sense we have cycles just like all the rest of nature. I love the Fall for writing and reading. I can almost feel the rain and wind…almost!

  2. I am definitely not a summer person…tragic as I am currently stuck in central Texas. There’s not really much of an autumn or winter here. I read Libba Bray’s Beauty Queens (a YA satire novel about teenage beauty pageant contestants that crash land on a desert island) and thought it was the perfect, refreshing summer read. I read The Night Circus in February and really loved it. I think you’re right though, the mood of the novel is not summer.

    • That sounds interesting! I’ll have to give that a try. I’ve read some of her other books and really enjoyed them. Summer does have its upsides, but I’m ready for some Fall weather. 😀

  3. Oh, wow! I’d never given it much thought before, had never considered weather a factor, but it may have totally been so! Most books do have a certain mood.

    It’s funny too, you know, you always hear that cliche about when it’s raining or snowing outside and you want to curl up with a blanket and a cup of tea and a book, but really, that’s only going to work for certain books. I’m probably not going to curl up in comfort while it’s raining outside and read Portia de Rossi’s memoir about her eating disorder. That would be odd.

    Night Circus is AMAZING. I hope you love it! I notice you’re also reading An Abundance of Katherines right now, which, while it is my least favorite of John Green’s books, it’s still somehow GREAT, because everything he writes is great. 🙂

Leave a Reply

