Book Recommendations

I’m sure we’ve all recommended books to friends and family and had books recommended to us. Do you ever read books that are recommended to you? I know I’ve definitely been guilty of taking book suggestions and then ignoring them. But then on the flip side, I don’t like it when people don’t read the books I suggest. I suppose I should just listen to recommendations more. I don’t want to miss out on something awesome, just because I’m stubborn.

Do you recommend books to people? Do you read books people recommend to you?

 

cropped-sam_2542.jpg

3 thoughts on “Book Recommendations

  1. I definitely recommend books more often than I listen to recommendations – I guess it’s about time as much as anything else, recommending something takes seconds, reading a recommended book takes hours. Despite this, half the books waiting on my shelf at the moment come from recommendations, so I guess I’m getting better at this.

  2. I only recommend books to people when asked! When I ask for recommendations, however, I do actively try to locate the books people tell me about. 🙂

  3. I’m studying library science, so I’ve given book recommendations professionally (as a part of my internship at the library). I think it’s always a toss up, I can usually match a person’s interests to a good book, especially if they’re looking for something in one of the areas of literature I’m most knowledgeable in. However, I don’t think a whole lot of people read my suggested books right away, especially if they are voracious readers and already have a bunch to read. I try not to ignore book suggestions, because I know it’s annoying from the other side, but at the same time I have a long, long list of books I’d like to read once I’m done with school.

Leave a Reply

