Fullmetal Alchemist By: Hiromu Arakawa

My husband and I started watching Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood on Netflix and we watched the entire show in 4 days. It was awesome. So I decided to try reading the actual Manga. This is my first foray into reading Manga and I’m loving it! The art and story of Fullmetal Alchemist are awesome. This is such a creative series and I’m enjoying it immensely. I don’t know how many of you are into anime or Manga, but if you are, I would read these and watch Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood. They are awesome and fantastical.

Side note: I would watch the show in Japanese with English subtitles. More fun that way.

Amazon description:

Alchemy: the mystical power to alter the natural world; something between magic, art, and science. When two brothers, Edward and Alphonse Elric, dabbled in this power to grant their dearest wish, one of them lost an arm and a leg…and the other became nothing but a soul locked into a body of living steel. Now Edward is a agent of the government, a slave of the military-alchemical complex, using his unique powers to obey orders…even to kill. Except his powers aren’t unique. The world has been ravaged by the abuse of alchemy. And in the pursuit of the ultimate alchemical treasure, the Philosopher’s Stone, their enemies are even more ruthless than they are…

4 thoughts on “Fullmetal Alchemist By: Hiromu Arakawa

  1. I want to watch this show so badly. I actually watched the first four episodes and then got distracted, and when I tried to get back to it I was so intimidated by the total number of episodes I’d have to download (internet is too slow for streaming). However, I upgraded my connection recently so I’ll have to see about fixing this.

    Manga is one of my favourite things ever. I would be happy to give you recommendations if you like! 😀

      • Ah, well, let’s see…. I recommend Fruits Basket and Kimi ni Todoke if you like romantic comedies with a touch of drama. I adore those two so much. There’s also Kamisama Kiss, which has more fantasy elements.

        Azumanga Daioh and Yotsuba are both really adorable slice of life mangas that will have you laughing out loud.

        Rurouni Kenshin… that one’s fantastic… history, romance, comedy, tragedy… it has all the elements and the art is wonderful. One of my absolute favourites.

        Another one that’s worth reading is Tsubasa Chronicles… the story, the characters, the development… it’s all so, so good.

Leave a Reply

